link to The University of Texas at Austin - What Starts Here Changes The World
link to UTeach Natural Sciences link to Cockrell School of Engineering
About Undergraduate Programs Graduate Program High School Course Research and Publications
link to UTeachEngineering Home
Apply to a Program Current Students Alumni Program Archives Contact Us

About UTeachEngineering
Programs and Goals
  Math & Science Partnership
  Advisory Board


About UTeachEngineering: Advisory Board

The UTeachEngineering MSP Advisory Board represents a balance of perspectives from K-12, higher education, and industry. Our Advisory Board members have diverse expertise in areas including curriculum development, teacher preparation, classroom implementation, engineering design theory and research, promotion of diversity, and program sustainability. They are grouped broadly into categories of education, engineering, K-12 and industry.


Dr. Christine Cunningham (Boston Museum of Science) has overseen development of a research-based curriculum and Professional Development (PD) program in K-12 engineering and is a committee member on a National Academy of Engineering (NAE) project that is examining the value and feasibility of creating content standards for K-12 engineering.

Dr. Reed Stevens (Northwestern University) is a Professor of Learning Science working in ethnographic and comparative approaches to studying how people learn, especially in STEM disciplines. Dr. Stevens formerly served as Principal Investigator of the Center for the Advancement of Engineering Education at the University of Washington and co-leads the NSF-funded Learning in Informal and Formal Environments (LIFE) Center.

Dr. Jackie Sullivan (University of Colorado at Boulder) has created an award-winning engineering education program at the University of Colorado at Boulder, where she is responsible for overseeing diversity of the engineering student population. She has developed curriculum, done teacher PD, is the co-PI for, and has spearheaded efforts to establish a public science and technology high school in Denver that draws large numbers of low SES students. Dr. Sullivan has served on several committees at the NAE, including the committee on Engineering in K-12 Education.


Dr. Dave Burghardt (Hofstra University), co-director of the Hofstra Center for Technological Literacy, has done extensive curriculum development and professional development work and has a special expertise in how engineering facilitates learning of science and mathematics, especially for low-performing students. Dr. Burghardt was a member of the NAE committee on Engineering in K-12 Education.

Dr. Karen High (Oklahoma State University) is an Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering with extensive experience collaborating with education faculty and coordinating a large-scale Research Experiences for Teachers program. Her interests include creativity and entrepreneurial skills as they apply to engineering education.

Dr. David Radcliffe (Purdue University) is Kamyar Haghighi Head of Engineering Education for the nation’s first and premiere engineering education program. He has many years of experience in the field of engineering education both in the United States and abroad and has worked in interdisciplinary research methods in engineering education and in design thinking and engineering knowledge creation.


Anna McClane is Managing Director of the Office of Innovation in Houston’s Region IV Education Service Center, where she leads a statewide program to develop and manage science program design, professional development and resources for science education. Ms. McClane oversees guidance, direction and implementation of the state science curriculum as directed by the Texas Education Agency. Her duties include development and implementation of statewide modules for science trainings, resources and materials.

Joel Palmer has served as the science coordinator for Mesquite ISD, in a suburb of Dallas, for a number of years. Mr. Palmer has held high-profile positions in the Science Teacher Association of Texas (STAT), including past-president and editor of the organization’s statewide newsletter, and is involved in the annual Conference for the Advancement of Science Teaching (CAST) for Texas, the largest science teacher conference in the nation.

Candy Ellard is a fifth-grade math and science teacher with more than 30 years of combined experience in the classroom and at the district level as an elementary and secondary science curriculumspecialist. Ms. Ellard was among 100 educators honored in 2010 with a Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching, the highest national recognition a math or science teacher can receive. Ms. Ellard was her school’s 2008 Teacher of the Year and the sole recipient of the 2009 Distinguished Texas Scientist Award from the Texas Academy of Science.


Ray Almgren, an engineer and vice president of developer and academic relations at National Instruments (NI) in Austin, is a member and former chair of the Texas Engineering and Technical Consortium; chairs the National Experimental Physic and Industrial Control System (EPICS) Program Advisory Council at Purdue University; and serves on the University of Texas (UT) College of Natural Sciences Advisory Board, the School of Engineering Executive Board at Southern Methodist University, the Advisory Committee for the Tufts University Center for Engineering Education and Outreach, and the External Advisory Committee for the Department of Electrical and Computing Engineering at UT Austin.

Wanda Gass is a Texas Instruments (TI) Fellow; one of the first 10 founders of the Women of TI Fund, the mission of which is to increase the number of girls graduating from high school who are entering a university-level technical degree program; and an active member and fellow of IEEE. Gass owns three patents, has been published 25 times and has endowed a scholarship at Rice University for women in engineering.

Ken Dickerson is retired senior vice president of ARCO, co-chair of the UT Dallas Jonsson School Industrial Advisory Board, vice-chair of the UT Austin Cockrell School of Engineering Advisory Board and chairman of the statewide Association of Engineering Advisory Boards. For more than three years he has led statewide efforts to promote engineering education through legislative efforts and advocacy from local to state levels.

link to College of Natural Science link to The College of Education link to Center for Energy and Environmental Resources link to Austin Independent School District link to Natural Science Foundation
link to UT Offices A-Z link to UT Directory link to Campus Parking Maps link to UT Search link to UT Home